Decisions of the Appeals & Charges Committee November 2016 In the matter of Fulvio Fantoni (#9682414) and Claudio Nunes (#9682473), the Appeals and Charges Committee upheld the Ethical Oversight Committee’s finding of violation of CDR sections 3.1 and 3.20. The committee affirmed the decision to expel Fantoni and Nunes from the ACBL and to forfeit […]

Longtime ACBL Tournament Director Lowell Andrews of Laguna Woods CA died December 7.  He was 88. Andrews, a Platinum LM with almost 19,000 masterpoints, was ACBL Senior Player of the Year in 2000, 2002 and 2006. A full obituary will appear in the February issue of the Bridge Bulletin.

Becker team wins Reisinger Board-a-Match ACBL President Ken Monzingo presented the Reisinger replica to the winning team: Mike Kamil, Walid Elahmady, Richard Coren, Tarek Sadek, Mike Becker and Aubrey Strul. Members of the second-place squad: Geoff Hampson, Eric Greco, Justin Lall, Kevin Bathurst, John Diamond and Brian Platnick.   Levine strong in NA Swiss final […]

Mary Jane and Michael Gladfelter started play on Friday in sixth place in the 0-10,000 Fast Pairs. A mediocre first final session dropped them to 10th place, but they came back strong in the second final session to win the event by 9.31 matchpoints on a top of 17. The winners are a married couple […]

Lee Atkinson and Mark Yaeger of Hollywood FL turned in two strong sessions in the final of the Senior Mixed Pairs to win the four-session contest by 10 matchpoints on a 51 top. In second were Bill Eason and Jane Eason of Nesbit MS. Atkinson and Yaeger play once a week at the Fort Lauderdale […]

Jeff Meckstroth and Eric Rodwell started the final day of the Kaplan Blue Ribbon Pairs in 13th place, but put together two solid sessions to win the event for the third time as partners by 47.27 matchpoints on a top of 38. The win seals the 2016 Player of the Year honor for Meckstroth. Second […]

Radu Nistor and Joan Brody narrowly captured the title in yesterday’s final of the 0-5000 Mini-Blue Ribbon Pairs, outpacing runners-up Michael Schrage and Edward Rauch by 3.5 matchpoints on a 25 top. Nistor of Sunnyside NY and Brody of Livingston NJ qualified fourth in Wednesday’s opening round and then combined a 54% in the first […]

Nancy Passell and Shawn Quinn won the four-session Whitehead Women’s Pairs, parlaying a strong second final session into a two-board margin of victory. Passell of Plano TX and Quinn of Sugar Land TX are a new partnership, playing for the first time together in Orlando. In second were the mother-daughter duo of Gen Geiger and […]

Early this year, the ACBL Educational Foundation announced a contest to create an easy-to-use program to teach beginners how to play bridge and offered a $20,000 prize as an incentive. The foundation board received several entries for the contest, and this week, the Ed Foundation announced a surprising winner: 16-year-old Eric Lou, working together with […]

Ed Piken of Palos Verdes CA and Steve Cohen of Las Vegas won the four-session 0-10,000 IMP Pairs by 11.67 IMPs over runners-up Tony Barre of Marco Island FL and Dan Dalpe of Fort Myers FL. This is the second limited NABC title for Piken who won the Grand National Teams Flight A in 2012. […]