Click to print Appendix E


Membership on the ACBL Goodwill Committee is a lifetime appointment. This committee is composed of all past and present appointees and members at large. Members at large are district directors, chairmen of the Board of Governors, honorary members, and “ACBL Goodwill Members of the Year.”

The chairman of the ACBL Goodwill Committee is elected by the ACBL Board of Directors for a three-year term.

The Goodwill Committee chairperson names seven assistant chairpersons to serve concurrently. The assistant chairpersons represent ACBL’s geographic areas, which are: East, South, Midwest, Northwest, Southwest, Eastern Canada, and (with the Manitoba-Ontario border as the dividing point) Western Canada.

Every calendar year each member of the ACBL Board of Directors appoints two ACBL members to the Goodwill Committee. Each district director may also make up to two additional appointments to fill district vacancies created by deaths of prior appointees.


The ACBL Goodwill Committee and its individual members work to create goodwill for ACBL. They receive, convey, and act on suggestions for the betterment of ACBL, particularly in the areas of active ethics, conduct, tournament conditions, bridge for Juniors, and bridge for the handicapped.

Annually, the Goodwill Committee chairmen recommend to the ACBL Board of Directors their choice for the “ACBL Goodwill Member of the Year” award from among nominations received from ACBL unit organizations.

The ACBL Goodwill Committee sponsors the ACBL’s Active Ethics program, which educates ACBL members to the highest standards of conduct and propriety.


All members of the ACBL Goodwill Committee receive, and are thereafter entitled to wear, the official Goodwill Committee pin. Replacement pins are available to members.


ACBL awards the title “ACBL Goodwill Member of the Year” to an ACBL member who has exhibited unselfish dedication to the causes of good conduct, worthy participation, and ethical behavior.

ACBL inscribes the honoree’s name on a permanent plaque, which it keeps at its headquarters. ACBL sends a replica of the plaque to the honoree. ACBL also sends a “Proclamation of Goodwill” to each person nominated for the honor.

ACBL Charity Committee


The ACBL Charity Committee is a standing committee composed of two current representatives from each district.

Each district director appoints two members from his or her district annually to serve on the ACBL Charity Committee. These are lifetime appointments.


Members of the ACBL Charity Committee endeavor to promote ACBL Charity Program participation in the units and sanctioned club games of their respective districts.

The ACBL Charity Committee has those duties and responsibilities assigned it by the trustees of the ACBL Charity Foundation or the ACBL Board of Directors.


All members of the ACBL Charity Committee receive, and thereafter are entitled to wear, official Charity Committee pins, even after their terms on the Committee are over.

ACBL Laws Commission


The ACBL Laws Commission consists of 9 (minimum) to 15 (maximum) members, in accordance with ACBL Bylaws.

The ACBL president appoints the ACBL Laws Commission members for terms of five years, on a staggered basis. The president makes these appointments at the fall meetings, and they are subject to confirmation by the Board of Directors. These terms begin on January 1 of the year following appointment and expire on December 31 of the fifth year.

The Chairman of the ACBL Laws Commission is selected by the Commission from among its members.

When vacancies occur, the ACBL president, with the approval of the Board, may make appointments to fill the unexpired terms.

The ACBL Laws Commission meets on one morning of each NABC.


In accordance with the ACBL Bylaws, the ACBL Laws Commission prepares and periodically reviews and revises the laws by which duplicate and rubber bridge games are governed. When feasible, the Commission makes these law revisions in consultation and cooperation with other national contract bridge organizations and the World Bridge Federation.

The ACBL Laws Commission is the final court of appeal within ACBL in disputes that involve interpretation or applicability of one or more of the laws of duplicate bridge.

NABC Tournament Appeals Committee


The Director of the NABC Tournament Appeals Committee is a member of the ACBL Board of Directors and is appointed by the ACBL President, with the approval of the ACBL Board of Directors. The appointment is for a one-year term concurrent with that of the President. The Director so appointed cannot serve on any committee involving conduct or ethics, nor on any committee involving any other matter that might result in an appeal to the ACBL Board of Directors.

Chairpersons, if any, of the NABC Tournament Appeals Committee are appointed by the ACBL President, subject to ratification by the Board of Directors, for calendar year terms. No ACBL Board member other than the chairperson may serve in any capacity on the NABC Tournament Appeals Committee.

Vice-chairmen of the NABC Tournament Appeals Committee are appointed by the Chairperson(s) of the NABC Appeals Committee with approval by the Director of Appeals and serve at his/her pleasure.


The NABC Tournament Appeals Committee hears questions involving determination of facts upon appeal from a director’s ruling, and hears disciplinary matters involving conduct and ethics.

All Tournament Appeals Committees are to proceed according to the Guidelines for Tournament Appeals Committees.


Compensation for the General Chairperson and Co-Chairpersons of the NABC Tournament Appeals Committee is given only while they are serving as follows:

Each receives a hotel room

Each receives per diem at the rate paid to tournament directors

Each is allowed free play privileges.

NABC Tournament Committee


All members of the ACBL Board of Directors present during an NABC constitute the membership of the NABC Tournament Committee. Prior to the arrival of Board members at the NABC site, Management is deemed to be acting for the Board in this capacity.

The chairperson of this committee will be determined in the following order: the ACBL President, the Chairman of the Board, the senior member of the Executive Committee, the senior member of the Board of Directors.


All questions not specifically delegated to the Tournament Appeals Committee or ACBL Laws Commission, including conditions of contest, conventions and policy will be handled by the NABC Tournament Committee.