There will be a new face on the Board of Directors starting in January as eight of the ACBL’s 25 districts went to the polls to select their representatives.

A.J. Stephani of Cincinnati OH defeated incumbent Beth Reid of Louisville KY to represent District 11 – Kentucky, Western Ohio, Central Indiana and West Virginia.

Incumbents staved off challengers in three races:

  • In Washington DC-area District 6, Director Margot Hennings defeated William Zane, Lorton VA
  • District 9 (Florida) Director Jay Whipple III held off a challenge by former Board member Shirley Seals of Ponte Vedra FL
  • District 24 Director Al Levy, whose territory covers New York City and Long Island, defeated Bill Begert of New York

Four incumbents ran unopposed, thus retain their seats for the next three years: District 10’s Russ Jones, Jonesboro AR; District 12’s Dennis Carman, Plainwell MI; District 17’s Bonnie Bagley, Colorado Springs CO; and District 20’s Merlin Vilhauer, Beaverton OR.

All terms begin Jan. 1, 2017, and expire Dec. 31, 2019.