Online entry sales for the 2017 Toronto NABC are now open. Advance entries can be purchased through the Bridge Winners website for the first day of the following events: Von Zedtwitz Life Master Pairs Bruce LM-6000 Pairs Young 0-2500 Pairs 0-10,000 NABC Pairs Spingold Knockout Teams Truscott USPC Senior Swiss Teams Wagar Women’s Pairs 0-6000 Mini-Spingold […]

The filing period closed May 31 for candidates running for open seats on the Board of Directors, 1st and 2nd Alternate, and the Board of Governors. The term for these offices is Jan. 1, 2018 through Dec. 31, 2020. Candidates who ran unopposed have already been elected. Barring runoffs, the results of the contested elections […]

The ACBL Hall of Fame will induct three this year, including Jeff Meckstroth, who was chosen by the electors. The Hall of Fame Committee also selected Zeke Jabbour and the late Peter Nagy as recipients of the Blackwood and von Zedtwitz awards, respectively. Jeff Meckstroth Meckstroth’s dazzling bridge career is being interrupted for a brief […]

ACBL Chief Executive Officer Robert Hartman has announced his resignation effective July 31, 2017. Hartman, who will be moving to Florida to take over the reins of a family business, notified the organization’s Board of Directors yesterday. The CEO praised headquarters and field staff. “Our organization also has the hardest working volunteers I’ve come across […]

by Al Levy The 1st Yeh Online Bridge World Cup, sponsored by Chen Yeh, featured four world mixed-teams, including some of the best players in the world and bridge playing celebrities.  Each team played online, at the same site, one in Seattle, one in Turin, and two teams in Beijing. Team BBO, partners (left to right): Jill […]

The Women’s USBC is underway. With exactly five teams entered, the Round Robin is a “Knock-In” event. The winners of these matches will qualify for the Semifinal. The losers of these matches will play each other in a 60 board match on Tuesday, May 31. The winner of that match will qualify for the Semifinal and the loser […]

Canadian champion and Diamond Life Master Samantha Nystrom died Monday, Dec. 21. She was 31. In 2014 Nystrom became one of four women ever to win the Canadian National Team Championship. Just a few months before her death, she represented Canada on its 2015 Venice Cup team. A full obituary will appear in the Bridge […]

The Simson team (Doug Simson, Jeff Aker, Marc Zwerling, Mark Tolliver, Jerry Clerkin and Dennis Clerkin)  defeated Street (Paul Street, Marc Jacobus, Mike Passell, Eddie Wold, Bart Bramley and Lew Stansby) in the USA 2 final. Simson will join Milner as the USA’s two representatives in the Senior Bowl in Chennai, India this fall.

Winners have been announced in nine of the Summer NABC categories in Las Vegas!   Grand National Teams Championship Flight From District 9: Jeff Meckstroth, Eric Rodwell, Michael Seamon, non-playing captain Jodi Coren, Richard Coren, Kevin Bathurst and Kevin Dwyer   Goldman Flight A of the GNT From District 21: Sathya Bettadapura, Robert Thomson, Crispin […]