Jeff Meckstroth and Eric Rodwell started the final day of the Kaplan Blue Ribbon Pairs in 13th place, but put together two solid sessions to win the event for the third time as partners by 47.27 matchpoints on a top of 38. The win seals the 2016 Player of the Year honor for Meckstroth.

Second place went to Billy Cohen and Ron Smith.

The winners, often referred to as Meckwell, have been among the top pairs in bridge for more than three decades. They now have 121 North American titles between them – 61 for Rodwell, 60 for Meckstroth. They have won seven world championships as partners. They won the Blue Ribbon Pairs in 1982 and in 2008.

Trailing the leaders by 33.29 matchpoints at the start of play on Thursday, the winners moved into fourth place with a 58.17% game in the first final session, then had the second-best game in the second final (59.31%) to take the title.