Howard Weinstein has been named the winner of the 2015 Sidney H. Lazard Jr. Sportsmanship Award. Sidney Lazard Sr., who serves as the selection committee’s chairman emeritus, said of Weinstein, “Howie works very hard at bridge, and he does it a way that makes bridge a more pleasant experience for everyone.”

In response to being selected for the prestigious recognition, Weinstein said, “I have always tried to play bridge in a sportsmanlike manner by being pleasant and respectful to my partner and the opponents. I am truly honored to be chosen for this award.”

The award was established by Lazard in honor of his son, who died in 1999 at the age of 41 after a year-long battle with cancer. Administered by the ACBL Educational Foundation, the award is given annually to a top-level player.  According to Lazard, the object of the award is to “enhance sportsmanship among top players and to salute those who try to win with class and dignity.”

The selection committee members are Steve Beatty, Steve Weinstein, and Zia Mahmood.

Previous winners:

2014       Bob Hamman

2013       Benedicte Cronier and Sylvie Willard

2012       Michael Kamil

2011       Betty Ann Kennedy

2010       Roy Welland

2009       Peter Boyd

2008       Giorgio Duboin

2007       Seymon Deutsch

2006       Ralph Cohen

2005       Nick Nickell

2004       Lynn Deas

2003       Larry Cohen

2002       Rose Meltzer

2001       Paul Soloway